Nesting ModelAnimator in a Player class?

Topics: User Forum
Feb 17, 2007 at 1:44 PM
I am having problem going beyond the tutorials. I am a newbie so I guess this is more like a general problem. I want to create a Player, PlayerManager, and a Camera class. This is because I can then write methods like RenderPlayers and so on. When I am nesting the ModelAnimator inside my Player class and trying to instantiate it I get an error:

'ShooterExperiment.Game1' is a 'type', which is not valid in the given context

I don't know how to fix it. Plz help.

Cheers
Alfons
Coordinator
Feb 17, 2007 at 8:05 PM
Edited Feb 17, 2007 at 8:05 PM
Sounds like you are passing Game1 (which is a type) into the modelanimator's constructor when you create it, when you should in fact be passing an instance of type Game1 (or Game) into the constructor.
Feb 17, 2007 at 8:13 PM
and how do I do that?
Feb 17, 2007 at 8:19 PM
You'll have to show who us more code, specially the part where you make the ModelAnimator instantiation.

An example on how you could implement the Player class is as follows
public class Player
{
  ModelAnimator animator;
  public Player(Game game)
  {
    Model model = content.Load<Model>("player_model");
    animator = new ModelAnimator(game, model);
  }
}
And in your Game class
protected override void LoadGraphicsContent(bool loadAllContent)
{
  if (loadAllContent)
  {
    Player player = new Player(this);
  }
}

Feb 17, 2007 at 8:27 PM
I change Program.cs to this and it works. Is this a stupid solution?

public static Game1 game;
/// <summary>
/// The main entry point for the application.
/// </summary>
static void Main(string[] args)
{
using (game = new Game1())
{
game.Run();
}
}
Coordinator
Feb 17, 2007 at 8:31 PM
Definitely not an ideal solution, but passable if you are only using one game object for everything. You'll really have to post more code to get more help.
Feb 17, 2007 at 8:41 PM
Edited Feb 17, 2007 at 8:43 PM