Anyone have Animation Library working with a physics engine like Farseer, etc.?

Feb 9, 2009 at 2:37 AM
Edited Feb 9, 2009 at 2:45 AM
I want to implement a physics engine (just a 2D physics one, because i will only be moving my 3D objects on the x axis and the view will be a fixed isometric overhead view).  just wondering if anyone has implemented a physics engine such as Farseer, etc.?

I figure I will have to use animate some 2D geometry that will mimick the positions of the 3D objects for collision detection in the 2D physics engine.  Any better ideas?

I was told over in the farseer forum that creating a black and white mask from each 3D object in the scene and using that as a collision sprite to test for collisions would probably be too processor intensive.
Feb 16, 2009 at 8:20 AM
Hi Chancet,

I'm no programming wiz or anything, so take this with a grain of salt!

I'm using JigLibX for physics right now.  I *just* now discovered that the Animation Component here has a working build for XNA 3.0 so I'm going to start trying to get it working for me --
BUT - for your problem, you may be able to use JigLibX.  Within it you can create either a "Physics Controller" or a "Physics Constraint" fairly easily that will keep your object constrained to the YZ plane.  I'm planning on doing something similar to this soon -- I am going to take a shot at a 2d platformer with 3d assets.  (Which might be what you're working on, also)

~Alex
Feb 16, 2009 at 8:26 AM
thanks sooo much for letting me know this alex.  i believe someone else recommended JigLibX to me as well.  This ""Physics Controller" or a "Physics Constraint" is probably the answer to what we're looking for!  Good luck and let me know how things go with you, i'll try to help you with anything i find out as well.
Feb 20, 2009 at 1:44 AM