Bounty for tool chain and how-to articles...

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Oct 26, 2007 at 8:56 PM
I am interested in finding someone interested in assisting me reach my goals with XNA & the Animation Component Library. I'm a programmer, most certainly not a 3D artist and have relatively limited time to devote to some of my personal projects. Not being a 3D artist, I am unfamiliar with most of the 3D tools and utilities.

From some experimenting I did a few months, I believe it should be possible to take Daz3D figure and convert it for use in XNA using the ACL. At the time, I walked into it blind and had less then stellar results -- I was able to get a figure to render in XNA, but not animate it with an BVH file. Nor were the figure's textures being rendered.

I'd like to try again, but I've not the time to mess with it blindly again w/o some guidance. But I do have some funds that I can put to the project, if someone has the time and believes they can accomplish it.

Write an article that can be placed in the ACL's documentation wiki that explains how to take the Aiko 3.0 figure (free from Daz3D), render it in XNA using ACL (including textures) and animate it with a BVH file. The article should be a complete walk through, including links to any relevant software tools and information on how to configure them.

I can provide the Aiko 3.0 figure converted using either the "pCharacter2FBX" or "FBX Plug-in" that are available in the Daz3D online store, but I would prefer that the tool chain not require any products that use tools that are not freely available.

Primary Bounty:
A) $25 - Conversion article using Daz Studio FBX plug-in
or
B) $50 - Conversion article using the COLLADA export that's built into the current Daz Studio (free)

Bonus Bounties:
$25 - Show how to change skin / textures using C# code only without loading the model back up in a 3D tool.